I Visited the Yellow River Wildlife Sanctuary!

Welcome to my website! Here in Georgia, the shelter in place restrictions due to the corona virus are lifting and so I decided to investigate a local attraction that newly reopened. Due to horrible conditions for the animals and inadequate care and management, the Yellow River Game Ranch was closed several years ago. Thankfully, this sanctuary recently came into new management and underwent many renovations. It is now open to the public and renamed a wildlife sanctuary, so I decided to visit and share my experience with you!

There are several beautiful trails throughout the forest with animal enclosures along the way. A portion of the park has paved trails and is handicap accessible too! I loved seeing the various animals throughout the park and visiting the petting zoo. Peacocks and peahens roamed the park freely, and cheerful volunteers were happy to answer any questions you might have.

 

 

This wildlife sanctuary is very family friendly, and perfect for a pleasant outing! The petting zoo is full of goats, and you can also see sheep, llamas, donkeys, and ponies on one of the trails. I absolutely loved seeing this adorable baby llama and its mother:

IMG_2593

Someone was hungry! Maybe a little camera-shy as well. 🙂

I will say that one critique I have of this park is that there weren’t many informational plaques. I understand, of course, that I did visit on the first weekend they were open since coming under new management, so naturally there will be some things that still need to be worked out. If you do visit Yellow River Wildlife Sanctuary, I suggest you visit their website here and use the informational pages listed there as you walk for a more educational experience. I am very pleased with the improvements that have been made to the animal enclosures and the obvious efforts to improve the lives of the animals residing in the sanctuary, and as someone who visited the park back when it was under poor management I can attest to the vast changes!

Thank you so much for reading! I greatly enjoyed my time at Yellow River Wildlife Sanctuary and I strongly recommend it to those not at a special risk to COVID-19. I was impressed with the safety measures at the park in terms of sanitation- there were multiple hand-washing stations available throughout the trails and hand sanitizer at every interactive enclosure. I hope you’re being intentional to stay safe and optimistic through this pandemic, and I’ll see you next week!

Remember to reuse and recycle! 🙂


Leave a comment